Uncategorized

Hardship as a pathway to peace

When I first started acting, I believed that by owning my angsts I would become a better actress.  So, I would spend way too much time pondering all my fears and allowing myself to truly, deeply  feel every painful thought that came to mind.  After a number of years of this unnecessary self-abuse, I decided to invest more time into spiritual healing because I was weary of the effects of negative thinking on the rest of my life.  For example, I would stay in toxic relationships simply because I felt that would help me grow as a person.  Why?

If you are in a “Why am I allowing myself to suffer for my art?” phase of your life – keep on reading.  If not – save this post for future reading.

Have you heard the following quotes before?

“So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now: rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen.  For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.” – 2 Corinthians 4:18

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.  Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.” Proverbs 3:5-6

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.” – 2 Timothy 1:7

“Man must live one moment at a time, knowing that the present moment is the creative one.” Helen Zagat

Everyday over the course of a number of years, a new inspiring healer’s words pierced my stormy mind-bubble, releasing the negative, life sapping viewpoints, and replacing it with light.  I am grateful for the path I took earlier in my career because it led me to desire a change not only in my creative process, but also in my personal life.  The changes have provided me with peace and creative rejuvenation.  Thankfully,  I have been able to inspire a number of my students to explore a self-healing/discovery path, and the results have been both life-affirming and creatively renewing.

For those of you seeking light on your creative journeys – I suggest you start with a powerful audiobook – Rick Hanson’s STRESS-PROOF YOUR BRAIN.   

Hardship can be a pathway to peace.  By recognizing the overall effects of my challenging life experiences and how the barriers I had been habitually putting up in my life were actually shutting me down creatively, I was encouraged to find a better way of truly living and not simply existing from one hardship to another.

My hope is that the guided meditations on STRESS-PROOF YOUR BRAIN will leave you centered, clear, and stress free so that you too can learn to “live one moment at a time” while  accessing  your pathway to a sound mind which will ultimately liberate you artistically and personally.

https://www.amazon.com/Stress-Proof-Your-Brain-Meditations-Unconditional/dp/159179921X/ref=sr_1_1_twi_aud_2?ie=UTF8& qid =1468254219&sr=8-1&keywords=stress+proof+your+braiIMG_0957

Leave a Reply

